Collage of campus photos

Self-Study 2017-18


To the George Washington University Community:

The university is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE), a voluntary membership association of colleges and universities located in the mid-Atlantic region.

Institutions in MSCHE’s jurisdiction undergo reaccreditation every 10 years. The multiyear process involves a self-study, a campus visit from a team of academics and administrators from other institutions who have read the self-study, and a ruling on the accreditation status of the institution. MSCHE accreditation applies across the university, regardless of accreditation processes for individual schools or programs.

In early 2016, GW formed a steering committee for its upcoming accreditation process, which is led by Paul Duff, professor of religion, and Cheryl Beil, associate provost for academic planning and assessment. In addition to the steering committee, eight working groups composed of representatives of all 10 GW schools are focused on:

  • Mission and goals
  • Ethics and integrity
  • Design and delivery of student learning experience
  • Support of student learning experience
  • Educational effectiveness assessment
  • Planning, resources and institutional improvement
  • Governance, leadership and administration
  • Compliance with accreditation-relevant federal regulations

The working groups will complete an initial self-study draft in spring 2017. After a review period that includes community input, the university will finalize the report and submit to the visiting team in fall 2017. The MSCHE will make an accreditation determination in summer 2018.

The accreditation process is an open one, and we welcome comments and questions from the university community. We will continue to share updates as we progress through the accreditation process.

Sincerely,

Forrest Maltzman
Provost and Professor of Political Science

 

COMMENTS OR QUESTIONS

Accreditation Timeline

November 2015Middle States Self-Study Institute (attended by Self-Study co-chairs)
January - February 2016Selection of the Steering Committee (in consultation with the Provost)
March 29, 2016Kick-off meeting of the Steering Committee
March - April 2016Create working groups (each co-chaired by Steering Committee members)
March - April 2016Create Self-Study Design and submit it to our Middle States liaison
May 4, 2016Campus visit of Middle States liaison
September 2016Working groups begin their analyses
November - December 2016Progress updates from co-chairs of each working group
February 2017First drafts of working group reports due; drafts returned with feedback from Self-Study co-chairs
April 2017Second drafts of working groups’ reports due
May 2017Self-Study co-chairs complete first draft of Self-Study
June - September 2017Community review and discussion of Self-Study draft; revisions made
October 2017Second draft of Self-Study prepared and distributed for comments
November 2017Self-Study draft sent to chair of visiting team
November 2017Preliminary campus visit by chair of visiting team; feedback given on Self-Study draft
December - January 2018Revisions made to Self-Study; final version sent to visiting team
March 2018 – April 2018Visiting team on campus
June 2018Middle States Commission meets to determine accreditation action

Steering Committee

Elizabeth Amundson, Registrar and Associate Provost: amundson@gwu.edu
Charles Barber, Deputy General Counsel: cbarber@gwu.edu
Cheryl Beil, Associate Provost for Academic Planning and Assessment (Co-Chair, Steering Committee): cbeil@gwu.edu
Sarah Baldassaro, Associate Vice-President, External Relations: sarahgb@gwu.edu
Jeffrey Brand, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, CCAS; Associate Professor of Philosophy: jbb@gwu.edu
Elizabeth Chacko, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, CCAS; Professor of Geography: echacko@gwu.edu
Steve Charnovitz, Associate Professor of Law: charno@gwu.edu
Joseph Cordes, Associate Director, TSPPPA; Professor of Economics, Public Policy and Public Administration: cordes@gwu.edu
Julie DeLoia, Associate Dean, MISPH; Professor of Exercise and Nutrition Science: jdeloia@gwu.edu
Paul Duff, Professor of Religion (Co-Chair, Steering Committee): duff@gwu.edu
Gina Lohr, Interim Associate Vice President for Research, OVPR: glohr@gwu.edu
Geneva Henry, Dean of Libraries and Academic Innovation: genevahenry@gwu.edu
Pamela Jeffries, Dean, School of Nursing: pjeffries@gwu.edu
Laurie Koehler, Vice Provost, Enrollment Management and Retention: koehler@gwu.edu
Raymond Lucas, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development; Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine: rlucas@gwu.edu
Mike Mochizuki, Associate Professor of Political Science and International Affairs: mochizuk@gwu.edu
Terry Murphy, Deputy Provost; Professor of American Studies: tmurphy@gwu.edu
Bhagi Narahari, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Affairs and Programs, SEAS; Professor of Engineering and Applied Science and of Engineering Management and Systems Engineering: narahari@gwu.edu
Rene Stewart O’Neal, Vice-Provost of Budget and Finance, Office of the Provost: rstewartoneal@gwu.edu
Barbara Porter, Chief of Staff, President’s Office: porter@gwu.edu
Liesl Riddle, Associate Professor of International Business: lriddle@gwu.edu
Paul Wahlbeck, Vice-Dean for Programs and Research, CCAS; Professor of Political Science: wahlbeck@gwu.edu